This Way for Awesome Blog Content

Many moons ago, Becky from Becky Says Things awarded me, little old me, with the Awesome Blog Content (ABC) Award. I graciously accept. Thank you, Becky.

I’m sure she gave up on me by now. But Becky, old chum, it was really Sticky that was dragging his feet here. But then he found Stickman….he told me, No Stickman should walk this sphere alone. Has Stickman been absent lately? Well, now you know where he ran off to….

pic1

P.S. Be sure to check out Becky’s blog if you haven’t….she’s the one who’s ruddy brilliant. She truly is. Note to Becky: Stickman may look a little different on my blog.

Now to accept this award, I am to say my ABC’s with a list of words. Here we go:

Accent – If you have an accent, I automatically think you’re sexy. In other words…if you’re not American. I’d like to hear Becky’s sexy English accent over a beer at a pub. Is it a date? Only I can’t drink the beer warm, okay?

Burpee – This is probably one of my least favorite words and exercise. It’s half torture, half cheerleading move. Let me explain. From standing position, you squat, go out to plank position, then thrust back to squat position, and then jump up in the air and clap your hands together. If am I understand this correctly, a full burbee includes a push-up after the plank position. It’s just sick, in a bad way.

Coffee – Must. Have. Coffee. It’s easily one of my favorite things in life.

Device – This is probably the word I hear the most, as in Where’s the device? It’s my turn for the device. Is the device charged? Pretty soon they will be more devices than people on the planet. It’s true. Be wary of the implant. They could break into your house while you’re sleeping and lodge it into brain. It could happen…then we would be walking around like this:

pic2

Einstein, Albert – I have some new info for Einstein. It’s this:

pic3

Do you think Einstein would enjoy blogging? Would he have been as productive in this century?

Feng Shui – Do you have any Feng in that Shui or is it Shui in that Feng? I just know that my house doesn’t have it. The perfect Feng Shui for me would be an absolutely empty house with nothing in it. I find there’s something undeniably inviting about wide open space.

Gross – This word feels like it sounds.

Humble – Some of the most talented people also are the most humble. This has endeared them to me even more.

Italy – I just want to go to Italy. I want to sit at the cafes and have three-hour meals with wine and bread, eat Gelato, and bask in the sun of Mediterranean beaches on the Amalfi coast. Can’t picture it….here it is:  Ahhh

Photos of La Strada, Praiano
This photo of La Strada is courtesy of TripAdvisor

Jellyfish – One of the most bizarre and marvelous marine creatures. Did you know the jellies have been around for 700 million years, making them the oldest multi-organ animal.

K – It’s a powerful letter…”K” as in okay, as in thousand, kilometer, kilobit, or kilobyte, or Kablam!

Love – According to Woody Allen:

To love is to suffer. To avoid suffering one must not love. But then one suffers from not loving. Therefore, to love is to suffer; not to love is to suffer; to suffer is to suffer. To be happy is to love. To be happy, then, is to suffer, but suffering makes one unhappy. Therefore, to be happy one must love or love to suffer or suffer from too much happiness. 

I’ll have that aspirin now…

Monk – I’ve been told that in a past life, I was a monk. The no talking clause might be problematic, but maybe it would be relaxing. Perhaps, this would explain my attraction to Italy.

Nurse – What I should have been. My mom was a nurse in mental health. I’ve come to understand that this is really the best profession to have if you’re a woman and want to have it all; kids, career, the house in the suburbs. Mrs. Yahoo is a complete hypocrite, you know. She had a nursery built on-site. Did she think we wouldn’t find out?

Oompa Loompa – Sticky and Stickman just wanted to paint their faces orange…

pic4

Penny – for your thoughts….mine are worth much more. This phrase needs an update.

Qualm – Does anyone ever say this word in conversation? Have you ever heard it spoken?

Roller coasters –  Now, I can ride roller coasters with my thrill-seeking ten-year-old.

Sex – I know that’s just what you wanted to hear. Don’t deny it. For the record, my top search words are “boobs,” “boob jokes,” or “big boob jokes.” Let’s hear it for boobies.

Ticker – Remember life before tickers? Do we really need tickers?

Universe – No, it’s not your smartphone. Let me see if I can explain it to you. The Universe is simply everything, the totality of our existence. Everything beyond the beyond. It’s everything that exists. I hope this has helped.

V  for Vendetta – Yes, it was their idea….

pic5

Wine – I enjoy a glass of red wine. See, it’s all coming together here…being a monk, Italy, wine…

X – Generation X…we are the coolest. Who would want to be Generation Y? Like why are you here? Actually, I never wanted to be a letter.

You – Thank you, you! I owe all it to you, dear listeners. Thanks for coming back to my blog again and again (and reading this long post!). I would give all of you a hug if I could.

Zombies – Because what else is there that really matters?

Next time won’t you sing with me? Who would like to sing next? I nominate iRuniBreathe, Mari Wells, and Come on, Mr. Sunshine. If you don’t have time to sing, I understand. Becky, I will be sending Stickman home now. It’s been fun.

67 thoughts on “This Way for Awesome Blog Content

  1. Oh, I hear you on the burpees. So not a fun exercise, and yet, I keep torturing myself with them. But I don’t think I was ever a monk, in this lifetime or the last. But imagine how cool you must have looked as a monk doing burpees.

    By the way, I’m pretty sure I’ve used the word ‘qualm’ in conversation. I like to do things like that.

    Like

    1. Carrie, a monk during burpees…that would be a first. Maybe I did that, too! That exercise is never easy, but I tell myself it’s worth the effort.

      Well, you use the word “qualm” because you’re sophisticated. That must be it!

      Like

      1. I wish I could say that were true, but I see I’m not even sophisticated when it comes to popcorn and beer. I blame my children. When in doubt, always blame the children.

        Like

  2. I wondered where Stickman had got to! I came looking for him this morning and he wasn’t on Microsoft Paint. I just assumed he’d gone off on one of his drug and alcohol-fuelled binges, but I feel bad for thinking that now because it’s obvious he’s had a lovely time hanging out with you and Sticky!
    And it’s a date for a beer (ice cold – we can do that (sometimes (not often (oh god, too many brackets)))) and I’ll talk at you in my posh English accent and you can swoon at me saying things like ‘Did you notice where the toilets were?’ and ‘I’m so hungry I could eat a horse, but shall we just get some crisps instead?’
    Thank you for the lovely shout-outs 🙂
    P.S. This post made me giggle like a loon 🙂

    Like

    1. Becky, your comments have me laughing like a loon!! I can’t promise that Sticky and Stickman have been on their best behavior, but indeed, they have had a lovely, splendid time together! Sticky has learned a lot from Stickman.
      See, I can just hear you say the word “crisps” and “toilets.” I may even be able to tolerate the warm beer if you’re speaking. I’ll be swooning away.
      Of course, you’re welcome. You’re the AWESOME one. 🙂

      Like

  3. Nice post and congrats. I have no qualms about using qualms in a sentence, altho the use of the word sets off funny feelings in my stomach,. Qualms, queazy, squooshy… better stop.

    Like

      1. What about psalms after a meal? Can you say your psalms after a meal in Palm Springs? Do you have any qualms about that? Oh oh, my stomach is bothering me again.

        Like

  4. This post was a hoot! Very well done! I love what you did with Love, I got a headache reading that one too…I was like, huh, wait what’s going on?! Burpees are the worst! Just the thought of doing them makes me run away and cry wolf-No, can’t work out today, I’m so sick, I have the stomach flu-I have any and everything to not do burpees! And now I’m gona go find some friends and try to use qualm in a sentence and see how it works out.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Amber. I read that Woody Allen quote many times…it makes my head spin.
      You’re familiar with the Burpee too, huh? You know exactly what I mean then. What is the origin of this name, I wonder. I could Google it, but chose not to. I so detest the exercise. It’s always hard, never gets any easier. But, it probably works wonders.
      Let me know how your qualm sentence goes. I’ll do the same!

      Like

      1. Epic fail! I tried to use qualm in a sentence and I sounded rediculas! Never again will I try that. It’s such an unnecessary word. I should have listened to you when you said who actually uses this word, to mean don’t ever try it!

        Like

      2. Oh, I’m sure you could never sound ridiculous, Amber. I think qualm is a good word, just not one I hear spoken that often. Maybe I will try it on my kids. That will go over well, right? I applaud you for attempting.

        Like

  5. Wrong !! Burpees is when you hold a baby on your chest with head on your shoulders, pat it’s back and get half an hour’s worth of milk down your back. Now that’s Burpees !! 😳
    Have a lovely week Amy. Ralph xox 😀

    Like

  6. Congratulations, Amy!!! That’s awesome! 🙂
    Hahaha… I’m all over the place today (at every other ‘letter’ I thought of something I should comment on… but due to the fact I’m ridiculously ‘F’orgetful I’m hoping this reply will come across as being a bit less ‘S’cattered than it might have been otherwise (wishful thinking, though)!
    I think I might have made the Gen. X cut-off, though (depending on the source)…
    so that’s something, right?!
    🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Robert. Oh, I think you should do this list. Yeah, yeah….you’re on a roll. Scattered is an excellent choice, as well as Forgetful. I’m those things about 90% of the time! Scattered is one of my favorite words. How did you know? Truthfully, I don’t care what generation you’re a part of. It’s all good! 🙂

      Like

    1. Michelle, you are so clever here. I would actually be very sad without the penny. What would we do for the wishing well? I guess you’re already there. I didn’t realize that Canada did not have pennies anymore. That’s too bad. This makes me feel qualmy.

      Like

  7. This list is fabulous … and (not that you needed to), when you won me over with more than one letter. BTW – The Amalfi Coast is fabulous … not the best beaches … but one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen … get there … Oh … there is a good beach at the south end in Minori.

    Like

    1. Ah shucks, Frank. Thanks so much. Of course, you know all about The Amalfi Coast. I haven’t heard that much about it. Only whenever I see photos it looks so breathtaking, and now I’ve heard it from an expert. I’ll have to write that beach location down. Thanks, I hope I can get there someday!

      Like

    1. Yes, yes, yes!!! This is exactly what I wanted to say about burpees, Denise. Perhaps you should be editing my posts before I publish. I couldn’t put my finger on it…but this describes it perfectly. It does make you want to burp and pee…Of course, that’s it! And, if this is named for someone named Burpee, I really feel sorry for him!

      Like

  8. I loved your list! For the record, not all us Brits like our beer warm! It used to be traditional to drink draft bitters and ales at room temperature, and those beers tend to be a bit flat too. It’s not for me either! Quite a lot of people still like their beer that way, but I would say these days most Brits go for a chilled one. And I was told once that I was a nun in a past life!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Vanessa. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m pleased to hear that you like your beer cold. I learned something new today. I thought for sure everyone there drank warm beer. Now to hear that most like their beer chilled. Who knew? Maybe we knew each other in a past life. Do you think you could have been a nun? That’s funny!

      Like

  9. First, I hate the internet because somehow I unfollowed you for some period of time and I just kept thinking “huh, Amy doesn’t post much these days”. But then WordPress redeemed itself and led me back here.
    ANYWAY, good luck with the Italian zombie boobie sex! I would love to go eat some gelato.

    Like

    1. Ah Jen! It’s so good to see you again. I’ve been thinking I hadn’t seen you in awhile. Damn the Internetz! I was thinking you were probably busy with your new working life. How is it going? Well, I’ve missed you and welcome back. Doesn’t gelato sound good right about now?

      Like

Take it away.